Early Years Foundation Stage

We are governed by the EYFS which sets the standards required to be met in Children’s learning and development and well-being.

Four guiding principles which shape our practice are:

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents/carers.
  • children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework the education and care of all children in early years’ provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Seven areas of learning and development

These shape our planning and assessment of children’s learning and development, all are important and inter-connected. They are broken up into Prime and Specific areas.

The three PRIME areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The four SPECIFIC areas through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning

  • Playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things and are willing to have a go.

  • Active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying when they encounter difficulties and enjoy their achievements.

  • Creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, and are able to make links between ideas and develop a range of strategies for doing things.


© 2021 The Ark Preschool.
All rights reserved
A member of the Pre-school Learning Alliance
Registered charity no: 1188952

The Rock Hub, 
13-15 Wellin Lane, 
Edwalton, Notts NG12 4AS
Tel: 0115 945 2627
Contact Us